12465 Warwick Boulevard, Newport News, VA 23606  Phone: (757) 591-4500



In The News

Secondary students honored at STAR Awards

(05/05/2015) - The STAR (Students Taking Action and Responsibility) Awards Ceremony, held on Tuesday, April 28, recognized 124 middle and high school students representing 42 school clubs and organizations. The STAR Awards is a celebration of youth development in Newport News Public Schools. The NNPS Youth Development program engages students in clubs, organizations and activities to increase the range of their experiences and their connection to school, and recognizes and supports youth leadership and mentoring. The STAR Awards Ceremony highlights and celebrates how NNPS students are learning to make a big difference in their lives, in their schools and in their community.

View the Facebook photo album.

Middle School Honorees

An Achievable Dream Middle

Young Men of Distinction
Kaleb Coleman
Zahnique Cooke

Youth Volunteer Corps
Caleb Edwards
Amaya Goodwin
Iyonna Harrell

Crittenden Middle

Book Buddies
Jeremiah Johnson
Deazha Leak
Lauren Osborne

Intelligent Gentlemen
Alique Johnson
Malik Jones
Trovel Blizzard

The Art and Garden Club
Amya Adkins
Medina Aslan
Teniyah McNair

Dozier Middle

National Junior Honor Society
Rebecca Cody
Haleigh McLean
Imani Williams

Youth Volunteer Corps
Maria Garcia
Brandon Herman
Alayna Sepulveda

Young Women of Distinction
Nevaeh Bailey-Bennafield
Dyamond Cooper
Trinity Torres

Gildersleeve Middle

Lego Robotics Club
Angela Copeland
Erim Murat Direskeneli
Ethan Moses

Student Council Association
Daeja Clarke
Dia Clarke
Zachary Rios

The Green Team
Aaron Allen
Madelynn Vinson
Cole Younger

Hines Middle

CCC Readers
Meagan Keatts
Emajua Mauzon
Ashley Taylor

Hines Volunteer Service Club
Susannah Baker
Simone Jackson
Anya Shah

Student Council Association
Mayra Alchapar
Kimberly Canseco
Lauryn Johnson

Huntington Middle

Student Council Association
B'Yanica Giles
Christopher Martinez
Danielle McPherson

TATOO: Taking Action to Overcome Obstacles
Edward Caraway
Jalin Jones
Aariana Theodore

Viking TV Production
Nadiyah Abdullah
Eaiae El Harre Bey
James Grant

Passage Middle

6th Grade Path
Jaylen Best
Inaysia Gilliam
Aleysia James

Student Council Association
Shanaya Francis
Kiaralis Nguyen-Estrella
Miles Tatum

Young Achievers
Amya Briggs
Tre'zaun Depriest-Shields
Sinceir Logan

B.T. Washington Middle

Relay for Life
Noah Carlson
Sydney Godwin
Kamryn Wells

Student Council Association
Sumerlyn Braxton
Eamonn Brown
Frances Garner

Youth Volunteer Corps
Alissa Fernandez
Celeste Manicone

High School Honorees

An Achievable Dream High

National Honor Society
Jonathan Holloway
Parisha Mitchell
Ke'an Square

Justice Fauntleroy
Alonzo Rice
Tra'sean Shackelford

Denbigh High

Nicholas Morrison
Davis Smith
Serena Smith

National Honor Society
Cheyenne Booth
Marian Phillips
Alaysha Shearn

Teens Against Violence
Stephanie Kloc
Trey Rutter
Rebekah Williams

Enterprise Academy

Youth Development Team
Aaron Day
Tyshana Finney
Kim Powell

Heritage High

Delta Gems
Alexis Artis
LaShayjia Byrd-Coles
Alexis Marina

Governor's Youth Development Academy
Kori Brown
Dijuan Douglas
Asia Shell

Navy Junior ROTC
Dominique Braker
Jordan Hinton
Brianna King

Menchville High

Governor's Youth Development Academy
Tayla Bryan
Sarah Howell
Marli Peters

Air Force Junior ROTC
Emi Higashiuetoko
Robert Morris
Austin Young

Key Club
Stephanie Arnold
Aurora Cartaya
Corbin Hawk

Point Option

Key Club
Caleb Flores
Sherreek Malone
Brooklyn Morciglio

Warwick High

Key Club
Rachel Brunt
Abby Lunsford
Luna Powell

Noble Teens
Victoria Baker
Sasha Patel
Emily Salsberry

Youth Volunteer Corps
Ashley Benge
Jadea Knight
Zarchay Roberts
Woodside High

Excellence Girls' Club
Octavia Davis
Diamond Moody
Nyala Rowe

Project Inclusion
Jazmyn Bremby
Alyssa Otis
Simone Williams

Seatbelt Club
Zyasha Evans
Jay Pimblett
Evan Winters