Curriculum Exec. Director Nancy Sweat chosen for SOL Innovation Committee

Posted: October 16, 2018

Governor Ralph Northam's office has announced that Nancy Sweat, the Executive Director of Curriculum and Development for Newport News Public Schools was selected to join the Commonwealth of Virginia's Standards of Learning (SOL) Innovation Committee by Secretary of Education Atif Qarni. Sweat is one of ten new members to the committee, which began under former Governor Terry McAuliffe in 2014.

"I am excited by this opportunity to both serve and learn on this committee. Envisioning and planning for the future of education in Virginia will be a thrilling challenge, and I believe in this committee's responsibility and commitment to make decisions that empower both students and our teachers through the work of Profile of a Graduate and beyond," said Sweat.

The committee will provide the Board of Education and General Assembly with recommendations on changes to the SOL assessments, authentic individual student growth measures, alignment between the Standards of Learning and assessment, and ways to encourage innovative teaching in the classroom.

"The SOL Innovation Committee has done tremendous work over the years to make recommendations which have modernized Virginia's education system," said Governor Northam. "We need systems in place to best measure the progress of our students and to ensure accountability, and I know this talented group will continue to find ways to provide every student in the Commonwealth with a great shot at success in life. I look forward to working with them as they chart out the next phase of their work."

Virginia Secretary of Education Atif Qarni said the committee hopes "to give thoughtful consideration to how we can better provide innovative learning experiences to all students in the classroom."

Sweat, who has taught and worked in education for 31 years, joined NNPS in October 2010. She has held several positions in education including Secondary English supervisor, PK-12 curriculum supervisor, Executive Director of Secondary Curriculum and Development, and currently serves as the Executive Director of Curriculum and Development, PK-12.