12465 Warwick Boulevard, Newport News, VA - Phone: (757)591-4500



In The News

NNPS Clean School Award Honorees Recognized

(10/7/2015) - The custodial teams from the Aviation Academy, Deer Park Elementary School, Huntington Middle School and Heritage High School earned top honors in the 2015 Clean School Contest sponsored by NNPS' Custodial Service Office.

School custodial teams are invited to participate in the contest each year to earn the "cleanest school" designation. A team of supervisors from Plant Services visits each participating school, and randomly evaluates several classrooms, hallways, offices and public spaces.

The team at the Aviation Academy earned top honors in the alternative school category: Beatrice Foster and Reginald Pope.

At the elementary level, the Deer Park Elementary School team earned the award: Lead Custodian Roger Johnson, Torriano Ponds and Michelle Strickland.

Huntington Middle School's custodial team earned top honors in the middle school category: Lead custodian Patricia Lassiter, Timmie Bethea, Andrew Burgess, James Day, Marsha Deloatch, LaToya Frink, Spencer Hicks, Jean-Louis Jean and Derrick Moore.

At the high school level, the Heritage team earned the top ranking: Lead Custodian Valerie Bryant, Peggy Adams, Demetrius Battle, Darlene George, Timothy Johnson, Earl Mason, George Neal, Donald Page, Samuel Smith and Darren Tillery.

The winning custodial teams were recognized at their annual meeting and during the September 2015 School Board meeting.

NNPS custodians keep their schools safe and clean, and are an important part of the support team that assists students and staff each day.

Aviation Academy Custodial Team
Aviation Academy Custodial Team: Reginald Pope and Beatrice Foster

Deer Park Elementary Custodial Team
Deer Park Elementary School Custodial Team: From left, Torriano Ponds,
Michelle Strickland and Custodial Team Lead Roger Johnson

Huntington Middle School Custodial Team
Huntington Middle School Custodial Team: From left, Lead Custodian Patricia Lassiter,
Andrew Burgess, Spencer Hicks, Marsha Deloatch, Jean-Louis Jean, James Day,
LaToya Frink, Timothy Bethea and Derrick Moore

Heritage High School Custodial Team
Heritage High School Custodial Team:
From left, Samuel Smith, Timothy Johnson,
Custodial Team Lead Valerie Bryant, Darlene George, Darrin Tillery,
Donald Page, Demetrius Battle, Peggy Adams and Earl Mason