Congratulations to our Teachers of the Year

Posted: June 9, 2021

Newport News Public Schools is proud to announce our 2021-2022 Teachers of the Year. These dedicated professionals are ensuring that all students graduate college, career and citizen-ready. Download Daily Press ad.

Divisionwide and Elementary Teacher of the Year Mitzi Emblidge

The NNPS Elementary School and Divisionwide Teacher of the Year for 2021-22 is Mitzi Emblidge, Riverside Elementary School.

Middle School Teacher of the Year Tiona Staton

The Middle School Teacher of the year is Tiona Staton, Crittenden Middle School.

High School Teacher of the Year Nicole Cooke

The High School Teacher of the year is Nicole Cooke, Menchville High School.

Congratulations to ALL of our outstanding NNPS Teachers of the Year!

Karen Griffin
Denbigh Early Childhood Center

Pamella Bond
Gatewood PEEP
Presently at Watkins ECC

Katrina Cannon
Lee Hall Early Childhood Center
Presently at Knollwood Meadows

Cynthia Watson
Marshall Early Learning Center

Karen Griffin
Watkins Early Childhood Center

Sherrell Ashburn
An Achievable Dream Academy

Sarai Ortiz
Carver Elementary School

Darlette Ambrose
B.C. Charles Elementary School

Beth DeWitt
Deer Park Elementary School

Laura Krzeski
Discovery STEM Academy

Amanda Matthews
Dutrow Elementary School

Amanda Hughey
Stoney Run Elementary School
Formerly Epes

Iris Booker
Gen. Stanford Elementary School

Mollie Brown
Greenwood Elementary School

Kelly Morelli
Hidenwood Elementary School

Elizabeth Gover
Hilton Elementary School

Kami Wagner
Jenkins Elementary School

Mandy Villarreal
Kiln Creek Elementary School

Rachel Smith
Katherine G. Johnson Elementary School
Formerly Lee Hall - Relocated

Becky Riebeling
McIntosh Elementary School

Bri Tuttle
Knollwood Meadows Elementary
Formerly Nelson

Dara Petersen
Newsome Park Elementary School

Rachel Fendrick
Palmer Elementary School

Jennifer West
Richneck Elementary School

Mitzi Emblidge
Riverside Elementary School

Krista Yarbrough
Sanford Elementary School

Jonathan Goeller
Saunders Elementary School

Brittany Shuford
Sedgefield Elementary School
Presently at Hidenwood

Jade Flournoy
Yates Elementary School

Tiona Staton
Crittenden Middle School

Michelle Seal
Ella Fitzgerald Middle School
Formerly Dozier - Relocated

David Richardson
Gildersleeve Middle School

Richelle Hodge
Hines Middle School

Lisa Mason
Huntington Middle School

Jonathan Sims
Passage Middle School

Amy Ziemba
B. T. Washington Middle School

Ashley Francis
An Achievable Dream Middle and High School

Donna Phelps-Thomas
Denbigh High School

Michelle Webb
Heritage High School

Nicole Cooke
Menchville High School

Lynn Ballou
Warwick High School

Tanya France
Woodside High School

Robert Parsons
Point Option